About Democracy Initiative Education Fund

The Democracy Initiative Education Fund is a 501(c)(3) charitable research and education organization dedicated to public education for member organizations about the necessity of broader democracy reform so that we can fully realize the promise of American democracy; a government of, by, and for the people.

Contact us

Our Story



Karen Hobert Flynn, Common Cause President, Board Treasurer and Co-Chair

Tefere Gebre, AFL-CIO Executive Vice President, Board President and Co-Chair

Derrick Johnson, NAACP President & CEO

Erich Pica, Friends of the Earth President

Gustavo Torres, CASA Executive Director

Virginia Kase Solomón, League of Women Voters of the United States CEO



Charly Carter, Executive Director

Diana Philip, Chief of Staff

Jennifer Lamson, Special Assistant for Federal Initiatives

Getachew Kassa, National Field Manager

Sherri Davis, Executive HR Assistant & Operations Manager

Jack Flynn, Communications Associate 

Belén Sisa, Arizona Campaign Manager

Ashli Bolden, Movement Building and Training Coordinator


Anchor Committee


Marilyn Carpinteyro, Vice President of Programs and Strategy, Common Cause

Jamal Watkins, Vice President of Civic Engagement, NAACP

Michelle Chan, Vice President of Programs, Friends of the Earth

Darlene Azarmi, Democracy Campaigner, Friends of the Earth

Alonzo Washington, Director of Policy and Community Engagement, CASA

Carol Lautier, Inclusive Democracy Project Associate Director, Demos

Alma Couverthie, National Organizing Director, League of Women Voters of the United States

Desiree Hoffman, Legislative Representative, United Auto Workers

Folabi Olagbaju, Democracy Campaign Director, Greenpeace USA